Born in London, his musical education began as a chorister at Westminster Cathedral and he went on to complete his studies at The Royal College of Music and Somerville College, Oxford University, studying composition under Robert Sherlaw-Johnson and Francis Pott.

Harry Escott is best known for his scores to films such as Shame, Hard Candy, A Mighty Heart and Shifty. His collaborations with directors such as Michael Winterbottom, Nick Broomfield, David Slade and Steve McQueen have greatly influenced his approach to composition, encouraging a focus on the capacity that musical sound has to convey meaning and emotion. This focus on the potential for music to function as storyteller is a common theme that threads through all of his work, from the concert platform to the big screen.

He has also composed the scores for several award-winning TV films/series/documentaries such as the BAFTA winning Poppy Shakespeare, The Arbor and Michael Winterbottom’s The Road to Guantanamo (Berlin Silver Bear). He received a coveted BIFA nomination for his scoring of Shifty in 2008 and has developed the score into a concert piece for his own ensemble, The Samphire Band, which was premiered at last year’s Latitude festival. He has received nominations for his scores to Shame and The Arbor.

In 2011, Harry worked with the poet Lavinia Greenlaw on an Artangel project called Audio Obscura (a sound installation designed for train station forecourts). It opened in Manchester Piccadilly station as part of the Manchester International Festival and has just won the Ted Hughes Award for New Work in Poetry.

Harry recently completed the score for Welcome To The Punch, Eran Creevy’s second feature, starring James McAvoy and Mark Strong.



The Selfish Giant

Director: Clio Barnard

Welcome To The Punch

(Between The Eyes/Scot Free Productions)
Director: Eran Creevy


(SeeSawFilms/Momentum Pictures/Fox Searchlight)
Director: Steve McQueen

Axis of Light

Director: Pia Getty/Nichola Bruce

The Battle for Barking

(Darmouth Film/Channel 4)
Director: Laura Fairrie

I Am Slave

(Slate Films/Altered Image,Channel 4)
Director: Gabriel Range

The Arbor

(Artangel/Verve Pictures)
Director: Clio Barnard


(Between The Eyes/Metrodome)
Director: Eran Creevy

Poppy Shakespeare

(Cowboy Films/Channel 4)
Director: Benjamin Ross

A Mighty Heart

(Plan B Entertainment,Revolution Film/Paramount Vantage)
Director: Michael Winterbottom


(Lafayette Films/Film4)
Director: Nick Broomfield

Deep Water

(APT Films/Pathe, Film4)
Director: Louise Osmond

Road To Guatanamo

(Revolution Films/Channel 4)
Director: Michael Winterbottom

Hard Candy

(Vulcan Productions/Lionsgate)
Director: David Slade

Miss Montigny

(Entre Chien et Loup)
Director: Miel van Hoogenbemt

Peace One Day

(Peace One Day Films/BBC)
Director: Jeremy Gilley


Os Olhos Do Farol

(Photon Films)
Director: Pedro Serrazina

What’s Your Name 41?

(Shipwreck Films)
Director: Marcel Grant


Audio Obscura

A sound installation for train station forecourts. ca. 30′

O Virdissima Virga

7 movement work for choir and chamber ensemble. ca. 40′